Love (III)

In the name of Allah Most Gracious Most Merciful.

Love bade me welcome: yet my soul drew back,
Guilty of dust and sin.
But quick-eyed Love, observing me grow slack
From my first entrance in,
Drew nearer to me, sweetly questioning,
If I lacked any thing?
 
‘A guest’, I answered, ‘worthy to be here’:
Love said, ‘You shall be he.’
‘I the unkind, ungrateful? Ah my dear,
I cannot look on thee.’
Love took my hand, and smiling did reply,
‘Who made the eyes but I?’
 
‘Truth , Lord, but I have marred them: let my shame
Go where it doth deserve.’
‘And know you not’, says Love, ‘who bore the blame?’
‘My dear, then I will serve.’
‘You must sit down’, says Love, ‘and taste my meat’:
So I did sit and eat.
 
-George Herbert-
 

I’m writing again. (well, typing to be precise). I have to say I miss blogging but somehow, I’ve been through a lot of stuff here and there.  Anyhow, with all the turbulances happening throughout the world, (Gadaffi was declared captured and killed, HIMPUN di sana,  the Euro crisis so on and so forth) let us sit back, read a poem and reflect.

Spent his later life living as a rector of the  little parish of Fugglestone St Peter with Bemerton St Andrew, near Salisbury, Herbert wrote religious poems characterized by precision of language and an ingenious use of imagery and conceits, typical of metaphysical poems. I was reading this in my class and I realized how I can closely relate the message with the fundamental teachings of Islamic traditions, and I assume in most religions in the world. Being born and educated with Islamic traditions, I was educated to be a good muslim and to another level, a daie’. Throughout my years of life, I stumbled upon those people who claimed that they want to be a ‘moderate believer’ ; tak nak alim sangat. biase biase je. So, how do you define a true believer then? An extremist? I see there is something wrong with the fundamental definition of a ‘moderate believer’ or a ‘true believer’. Some people are somehow scared or felt put off to understand their own faith/religion because they assume that religion or having faith is all about punishment which seems to be pejorative. Fear comes first. But I think that is not what faith is all about as love should be emphasized. Take for example, Herbert, who foregrounded and conveyed God as the God of Love instead of upholding the Old Testament where there a much elements of “thou shalt not…” He was a rector in a small village where the public were mostly illiterate and he took a clever approach in order to preach them towards God.

Islam is the religion of dialogues and critical thinking and in order to bring back the piety, we have to educate and bring back the fundamental teaching of the religion itself and not accusing others. Foreground the meaning of love towards God before emphasizing on the punishment. because it’s crucial to bring love first as love will then bring fear. Himpunlah di atas nama cinta bukan atas nama kekuasaan. Kembalikan rasa cinta ummah kepada Tuhan jangan timbulkan rasa judmental.

the poem above reminded me with a very familiar supplication:

“Tuhanku, aku tidak layak untuk Syurga-Mu, tetapi aku tidak pula sanggup menanggung siksa Neraka-Mu, dari itu kurniakanlah ampunan kepadaku, ampunkanlah dosaku, sesungguhnya Engkaulah Pengampun dosa-dosa Besar”

till then!

Leave a Reply

